The California Historical Society is a private, non-profit organization that was designated as the official historical society for the state of California in 1979. CHS is governed by an independent Board of Trustees who ensure that CHS manages its operations, finances and programs to further its mission and strategic goals.

Board of Trustees


Michael J. Sangiacomo, San Francisco

Vice Chairs

Tony Gonzalez, Sacramento
Glenn Snyder, San Francisco


Ralph Walter, Los Angeles


Christy Johnson McAvoy, Los Angeles


Michael Carson, Palm Springs
Pedro Castillo, Watsonville
Juan Devis, Los Angeles
William Deverell, Los Angeles
Linda C. Elliott, San Francisco
Anthea M. Hartig, Washington, DC
Clifford E. Trafzer, Riverside

Presidents Emeriti

George D. Basye, Sacramento
Jan Berckefeldt, Lafayette
Robert J. Chattel, Sherman Oaks
Maribelle Leavitt, San Francisco
Steve LeSieur, Hillsborough
Carlotta Mellon, Carmel Highlands
Thomas R. Owens, San Francisco
Edith L. Piness, Mill Valley
Stephen L. Taber, San Francisco

Governing Documents